A guide to the academic majors within the department identifying resources used in the study of the social sciences subject fields of economics and political science (American politics and international affairs).
For the latest updates on library services and resources during this period of online learning, visit our Remote Learning page.
Welcome to Economics
The Economics program at West Point includes required courses on the national and international economies, the decision-making processes of firms and individuals, and the application of economic principles to national security issues.
A groundbreaking account of how the flaws in capitalism are fatal for America's working class. In the past two decades, deaths of despair from suicide, drug overdose, and alcoholism have risen dramatically. While the rise in premature deaths among American working-class whites has become a national crisis, the authors tie the problem to the weakening position of labor, the growing power of corporations, and to a health-care sector that redistributes working-class wages to the wealthy.
Americans harbor deep insecurities about their economic future, as well as their place in the world, response to terrorism, and their deeply dysfunctional government. The author explores how America’s attitudes toward China have changed and how its economic anxieties and political dysfunction have laid the foundation for turning their collective frustrations away from acknowledging the consequences of their own poor decisions, shifting blame to China instead. He proposes steps that businesses, governments, and individuals can take to potentially stop and reverse America’s path to a dystopian future.
The author synthesizes concepts from economics, political philosophy, game theory, information theory, statistical mechanics, and systems engineering into a mathematical framework for a fair free-market society. The framework therefore provides a moral justification for capitalism in mathematical terms. The author also compares his theory's predictions to actual inequality data from various countries--showing, for instance, that Scandinavia has near-ideal fairness, while the United States is markedly unfair--and discusses the theory's implications for tax policy, social programs, and executive compensation.
In the author's opinion, politicians and economists for several decades have thought that high levels of inequality were good for the economy; however, an economy that works only for the rich simply doesn't work. Because the middle class is so weak, America's economy now suffers from the kinds of problems that plague less-developed countries. Privileged elites more frequently secure special treatment from a government that wastes money and stifles competition - especially relevant now in the Trump era.
CRS reports provide Congress with both anticipatory and on-demand research and analysis to support their legislative, oversight, and representational duties. All reports adhere to the core values of CRS; they are authoritative, objective and nonpartisan. Reports range in length from several pages to more than one-hundred pages and cover the full breadth of topics of interest to Congress.
Portal for CQ Press online products. These components are subscribed to: Congress Collection, CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Public Affairs Collection, Voting and Elections collection. In addition, these are searchable in SCOUT: Congress and the Nation and Washington Information Directory.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Its archive contains over 3,000 in a wide range of topics in political and social sciences.
An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
This is your go-to database for researching Supreme Court cases. LexisNexis is a provider of legal, regulatory and business information and analytics, drawn from newspapers, state and federal cases, law reviews and company profiles.
Contains the full-text of working papers, publications and data sets from the National Bureau of Economics Research. The NBER covers four areas of empirical research: developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, assessing the effects of public policies on the U.S. economy, and projecting the effects of alternative policy proposals.
The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. Content published by related agencies is also included. Data files may take a little time to load, so we implore your patience. Our subscription does NOT include the datasets or CSV files for the IEA, however statistical annuals provide that data, in PDF format. Access to all the content up to the end of November 2018, new content will not be available (except to read) past that date
Presents each side of an issue to help develop critical thinking skills. Provides balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources. WORKS BEST IN CHROME. ALTERNATE URL: https://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/nysl_se_usma?db=OVIC
Citations and abstracts, most with links to full text, for U.S. public policy research from over 350 think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.
Information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, hearings, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Congressional Research Service reports, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register.
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Covers 1790 to present.
Database of Congressional documents and reports from 1995 onward. Provides access to primary source material on all aspects of American history, including committee reports related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, and selected executive department and non-governmental publications.
Database of Congressional documents and reports from 1817 through 1994. Provides access to primary source material on all aspects of American history, including committee reports related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, and selected executive department and non-governmental publications.
This resource offers company profiles, rankings, and industry and profession profiles. Find career advice using the career guides, résumé templates, and sample cover letters. Search for jobs and internships, and find graduate programs.
Trading Economics provides its users with accurate information for 196 countries including historical data for more than 300.000 economic indicators, exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices. Their data is based on official sources, not third party data providers, and their facts are regularly checked for inconsistencies. TradingEconomics.com has received more than 100 million page views from more than 200 countries.
The author advocates for a U.S. foreign policy built on economic needs and themes rather than on military force. Topics addressed include the need to rebuild the U.S. economy, the use of U.S. economic influence in foreign policy initiatives, and the maintenance of U.S. military power.
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information, providing timely information for Members of Congress and the public. Additionally, roll call votes are provided for both the House and Senate from 1989 to the present (101st to the 116th Congress).