Skip to main content
United States Military Academy Library


Guide to U.S. Federal Information Sources: GENERAL DATABASES

Links and tutorials for subscription databases, official government websites, and other sources of U.S. Government Information, both current and historical.

FDsys

FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications. Through FDsys, you are able to

  • Search for documents and publications
    FDsys provides advanced search capabilities and the ability to refine and narrow your search for quick access to the information you need.
  • Browse for documents and publications
    FDsys offers browsing by collection, Congressional committee, and date.
  • Access metadata about documents and publications
    FDsys presents information about Government publications in standard XML formats.
  • Download documents and publications in multiple renditions or file formats
    With FDsys, download a single file or download content and metadata packaged together in a compressed file.

MarciveWebDOCS

You can search for all United States government publications issued to federal depository libraries since 1976 using MarciveWeb DOCS. MarciveWeb DOCS is the World Wide Web version of Marcive’s Government Printing Office record database. The records found will include the Superintendents Document number or SuDoc number, which is the GPO’s version of a call number. This is the number you will need to find a copy of a publication, if owned, in the government documents collection. Includes web addresses in the records for those government publications available on the World Wide Web.

CATALOG OF U.S. GOVERNMENT PUBLICATIONS

The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.

The catalog offers you the option to find a nearby Federal Depository Library that has a particular publication or that can provide expert assistance in finding and using related U.S. government information. Click on the title of interest from your search results list. Then click on the Locate in a Library link within the displayed record.

MetaLib GPO

 

MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online. To learn more, view additional brief or detailed search information.

U.S. GOVERNMENT CHANNEL

Source for videos produced by the U.S. government.

Footer Library Logo How Do I?
 
Research
 
About