Skip to main content
United States Military Academy Library


About USMA Library: Facilities

USMA Library Facilities

Jefferson Hall Library and Learning Center

Jefferson Hall, completed in 2008, reflects the Academy's ongoing commitment to academic excellence. The United States Military Academy Library, the Center for Enhanced Performance and the Center for Teaching Excellence, all providers of student-centered information services, are now consolidated in one central location, directly along the path from the barracks to Thayer Hall. 

Modern in design and composition, Jefferson Hall yet incorporates many of the characteristics of Central Area architecture, such as entry arches, limestone window surrounds and multi-paned windows. Special features include 8,000 amber-colored glass blocks on the north exterior wall of the ground floor and terracotta bricks on interior walls. New Hampshire granite, used on the exterior, is also incorporated in the interior walls of the lobby and sixth floor. The upholstered furniture was manufactured in North Carolina, and the wooden tables and chairs in Wisconsin.

 

Please note Jefferson Hall is not open to the general public. Visitors must meet access and authorization requirements. More information on access policies is available.

 

Bartlett Hall

The USMA Archives and Special Collections occupies specially designed collection space on the fourth floor of Bartlett Hall North. The new stack areas in Bartlett Hall North allow all Archives and Special Collections materials to reside in the Central Area for the first time since 1989, benefiting all researchers. Learn more about the Archives and Special Collections.

 

Departmental Libraries

Many of the academic departments at USMA have a small reference library of books acquired by the department or by the Library for the department. These books are included in our library catalog and are denoted by “location” with a status of “see department”. Access is provided at the discretion of the individual libraries.

The following departments have libraries:

 

Department Location
CPME - Simon Center for Professional Military Ethic Nininger Hall
CTC- Combating Terrorism Center Lincoln Hall
Department of English and Philosophy Lincoln Hall
Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering Washington Hall
Department of History Thayer Hall
Department of Law BLDG 606
Department of Mathematics Thayer Hall
Department of Physics Bartlett Hall

 

 

 

Library Annex

 

The USMA Library has maintained auxiliary collection space in an annex in building 2107, Pershing Center, since 1989. The annex space is located in the same building as the Visitors Center. The library temporarily vacated the annex for the comprehensive re-design of the Visitors Center, but has been re-occupied now that the renovations are complete. This area is not open to the public.

 

Footer Library Logo How Do I?
 
Research
 
About