Borrowing of physical materials - Users may visit the Library to borrow/consult materials in the general collections during regular library hours. Users may also request rotunda pickup of materials and retrieve them there. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Return of physical materials - Users may return items to the Front Desk in Jefferson Hall. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Use of Archives and Special Collections materials - Archives and Special Collections remains closed and materials are only available on a limited basis by appointment. Please submit a request through the chat function on our website or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Reference - Available through chat, email, or arrange to talk with a librarian over Teams. (Effective: 27 March 2020)
ConnectNY - Physical lending between libraries is now available. Delivery is slower currently than it used to be. Ebook Collection is still available and must be searched through ConnectNY. (Effective: 18 August 2020)
InterLibrary Loan - Physical lending may be available on a case-by-case basis depending on the availability of materials from other institutions. Requests will be reviewed upon receipt. You can still request articles that can be fulfilled digitally. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
HPCON Measures - All published HPCON B measures will be enforced for all persons in USMA Library facilities. Face coverings are required to be worn while in transit or when within six feet of another person. Face coverings should be worn at all times in classrooms or other enclosed spaces when in the presence of another person. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Room Reservations - Rooms may be reserved for use for meetings that must occur face-to-face, however, meetings should be done online whenever possible/practical. All room capacities have been reduced by at least 50%. Requests to use Library meeting rooms should be made online here: https://usma.libcal.com/. (Effective: 7 July 2020)
Building Use - The Library is available for independent study, however, capacity has been reduced by 50%. The following measures are in place to protect public health: (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Ceremonies - Ceremonies are permitted, however, the number of participants is limited to the modified capacity of the space in which the event is held. Food and catering are prohibited. Normal scheduling policies for Library spaces apply. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Service Restrictions - Onsite services are restricted to West Point personnel only during the current public health emergency. Access by outside researchers is not permitted. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
As new services and resources are added, we’ll update this document and share information and research tips. We are working to identify new ways to share the services, resources, and expertise in our library.
The USMA Library staff is available for virtual reference during academic year library hours. The physical library building is open to the public beginning on 9 July 2020. (updated 9 July 2020)
Get Support Now
Do you need immediate help from our staff?
Connect with Library Staff
Our staff of experts is here to help you find digital materials, create course guides, and provide online library instruction and virtual library visits. Talk to your library liaison, and together we'll figure out a plan to connect your students with the best tools and materials, including the following options:
Request support from a librarian for your class.
For updates on academy operations, restrictions or cancelations go to www.westpoint.edu/coronavirus. Additional information is also available on the West Point - The U.S. Military Academy Facebook page and the West Point Garrison and Community Facebook page.
USMA Internal Information for faculty, staff, and cadets:
How do I return library materials?
A book cart is located inside the rotunda of the library. Return items by leaving them on this cart. (Updated 9 July 2020)
When is my book due?
For cadets and faculty who are remaining at USMA, due dates will be adjusted to September 2020. Previously overdue items will be due upon the return of the Corps, but their due dates may not change when you view your account. (Updated 26 May 2020)
Is the Library still open?
The USMA Library is available for virtual reference during academic year library hours. The physical Library in Jefferson Hall is open beginning on 9 July 2020. The Archives and Special Collections in Bartlett Hall North remain closed to the public beginning on 19 March 2020. (updated 9 July 2020)
Are scheduled events still happening?
Some events are being held in the USMA Library with capacity limitations. See the event calendar for the most up to date information. (updated 3 December 2020)