Borrowing of physical materials - Users may visit the Library to borrow/consult materials in the general collections during regular library hours. Users may also request rotunda pickup of materials and retrieve them there. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Return of physical materials - Users may return items to the Front Desk in Jefferson Hall. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Use of Archives and Special Collections materials - Archives and Special Collections remains closed and materials are only available on a limited basis by appointment. Please submit a request through the chat function on our website or by email at email@example.com. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Reference - Available through chat, email, or arrange to talk with a librarian over Teams. (Effective: 27 March 2020)
ConnectNY - Physical lending between libraries is on hold. Ebook Collection is still available and must be searched through ConnectNY. (Effective: 25 March 2020)
InterLibrary Loan - Physical lending may be available on a case-by-case basis depending on the availability of materials from other institutions. Requests will be reviewed upon receipt. You can still request articles that can be fulfilled digitally. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
HPCON Measures - All published HPCON B measures will be enforced for all persons in USMA Library facilities. Face coverings are required to be worn while in transit or when within six feet of another person. Face coverings should be worn at all times in classrooms or other enclosed spaces when in the presence of another person. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Room Reservations - Rooms may be reserved for use for meetings that must occur face-to-face, however, meetings should be done online whenever possible/practical. All room capacities have been reduced by at least 50%. Requests to use Library meeting rooms should be made online here: https://usma.libcal.com/. (Effective: 7 July 2020)
Building Use - The Library is available for independent study, however capacity has been reduced by 50%. The following measures are in place to protect public health: (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Ceremonies - Ceremonies are permitted, however the number of participants is limited to the modified capacity of the space in which the event is held. Food and catering is prohibited. Normal scheduling policies for Library spaces apply. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
Service Restrictions - Onsite services are restricted to West personnel personnel only during the current public health emergency. Access by outside researchers is not permitted. (Effective: 9 July 2020)
The U.S. Military Academy Library is pleased to announce starting June 17, 2020, we will begin offering limited physical material pickup services Monday through Friday, from 0700 to 1630, in the rotunda on the first floor of Jefferson Hall. We are committed to providing safe access to physical library materials.
Important Service Notes
Rotunda Pickup Step-by-Step
1. Place items on hold.
2. Wait for notification that items are ready for pickup.
3. Pickup items in the rotunda on the first floor of Jefferson Hall.
Follow the Steps Below to Begin Requesting Items for Rotunda Pick-Up Using Scout
1. To request Rotunda Pickup, first go to Scout search
2. Click on “Sign In” found on the top right corner of the page in red
3. Sign in with your westpoint.edu Office 365 credentials
You are now signed into Scout and can begin looking for materials.
4. To request an item, click on the title to initiate the request.
5. Click on Request this be held for me at the Library Front Desk
6. Click on Send Request
7. A confirmation message will appear that your request was successfully placed.
How will I know my hold items are ready for pickup?
You will receive an email notification when your requested library items are available for pickup in the rotunda on the first floor of Jefferson Hall. Notification emails will come from email firstname.lastname@example.org, with the subject line "Ready for Library Rotunda Pickup".
How do I return items?
Items may be returned to the U.S. Military Library in the rotunda of Jefferson Hall. The library is generally available Monday through Friday from 0700 to 1630, but verify summer hours. Please drop off library returns on the supplied cart found by the South entrance of Jefferson Hall.
Newly returned library materials will be quarantined and unavailable for checkout/pickup for at least 72 hours after return.
Do I need a library account?
Yes, you need an account to request items for pickup from the circulating collection of the U.S. Military Academy Library. If you do not have a library account, please use the "Contact Us" tab. A library staff member will assist cadets, faculty, and staff affiliated with the United States Military Academy in setting up a library account.
What if I have mobility issues and cannot leave my vehicle?
If you experience mobility issues, the library can provide accommodation such as placing bagged items in the trunk of your vehicle. Please call the Front Desk of the U.S. Military Academy Library to request accommodations: 845-938-2230
What materials are available for pickup?
All physical materials in the circulating collection of the U.S. Military Academy Library, including books, DVDs, etc. are available for Rotunda Pickup.
What if I have a block on my library account?
Library staff can override account restrictions/blocks during the pandemic response.
Why are you using plastic bags for pickup items?
Plastic bags are a temporary measure to protect your privacy, protect physical materials, and limit unnecessary contact. Bags help separate materials to avoid the need for you to sort through items on the pickup cart.
What is the Library doing to protect the safety of patrons and library staff?
The contactless pickup model the U.S. Military Academy Library is using provides maximum social distancing for both your safety, and the safety of our staff. Library staff will use gloves and cloth face coverings in accordance with CDC guidelines.
All physical materials have been quarantined, and all materials returned to the library will be quarantined in a separate location from the general circulating collection.
Patrons and library staff should not approach one another and respect the need for social distancing. This may feel uncomfortable but is necessary to provide a safe, healthy, and contactless pickup service.
Please note that despite our best efforts to help ensure user safety, the library cannot guarantee that all collection materials are 100% free of any infectious materials at the point of delivery to users via Rotunda Pickup. Users who choose to participate in the pickup service do so at their own risk.