Skip to main content
United States Military Academy Library


Support for In-Person and Remote Learning: Remote Access

USMA Library supports remote teaching, learning, and research.

Working with Digital Course Materials

Use these services and tools to make it easier for your students to access the materials and resources they need, from anywhere. 

Remote Access

USMA Liaison Librarians are partnering with faculty to support remote teaching. We are also working remotely with students to provide research support and to help them find online resources.

 

Additional and existing services and resources that may be useful during this period include:

  • Support for course reserves and e-reserves. If you’d like to add to an existing course reserve or create one, find out how at https://usma.libguides.com/HowDoI/Reserves

  • InterLibrary Loan Services. Request articles through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan platform. Please note that while articles typically have a swift turn around, we recognize that there may be an increase in turn around time due to staffing reductions in other lending institutions. 

  • E-books available through ConnectNY. In addition to the e-books available through searching Scout, ConnectNY has a robust e-book collection that enhances our existing e-book collection. 

  • Academic Video Online has almost 70,000 videos available to stream, including political science, history, foreign languages, leadership, engineering, computer science, theater, and more. 

  • JoVE is a peer-reviewed, scientific video journal that combines high-quality video demonstration of experiments with detailed text protocols for the undergraduate level. Subjects include biology, chemistry, environmental science, psychology, clinical medicine, and engineering.

  • Mango Languages gives users comprehensive conversational language and grammar skills. The basic courses focus on polite greetings and small talk and are suitable for persons planning a short trip to a foreign country, or for those who want to get a taste of a foreign language and culture. RECOMMENDATION: Use a browser other than Internet Explorer. Create a profile/account while in the desktop version. Download entire lessons to access while offline. Logging in to your profile will sync your progress.

  • Access Engineering provides many standard engineering books; offers interactive problem-solving tools, including data visualization, calculator tools, instructional videos, and graphs and tables. 

  • Use Military One Source to access DoD MWR Library resources such as Kanopy (30,000+ award-winning films and documentaries), additional e-books and audiobooks, Morningstar Investment Research Center, and many other sources that may be useful for younger family members. 

We will prioritize the purchase of e-books and other digital resources that will support your online classes. Please submit your requests using this form as soon as possible to ensure access for your cadets when they need it. 

How do I Find Sources?

I need to find sources for my research. How do I...

Find a book

Learn about how to search for books using Scout

Physically locate a book in the library

Locate the call number and learn where to find it in Jefferson Hall

Find and use an ebook

Learn how to limit the search to find ebooks, and how to use them on your computer, tablet, or phone

Reserves

Find books placed on Reserve by your instructor. Search by course number (ex. "HI 108") or your instructor's name.

Find a scholarly or peer-reviewed journal

Learn how to search Scout (searches almost all resources together so you don’t have to search individual databases)

Find a database

Scout includes most, but not all, of the databases and materials we subscribe to. Find all databases that the USMA Library subscribes to with links to access the content.

Newspaper Subscriptions

Learn how to activate your subscription to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, and how to access a digital version of the Army Times.

Learn how to find a source West Point doesn’t have

Use ConnectNY first for faster delivery! If ConnectNY doesn’t have it, try ILL – InterLibrary Loan (known as ILLiad). If you still can't find what you're looking for, check the Library of Congress catalog and use ILLiad to request the item. To see everything that is available in all libraries, visit WorldCat and also use ILLiad to request the items. 

Archives & Special Collections

Learn about original resources (such as letters, photos, rare books, and the official records of USMA) that are available in person or online

Digital Collections

Digitized collections including books, manuscripts, and photographs documenting the history of West Point and its alumni. Learn how to use the digital collections.

USMA Digital Commons

Find scholarship from USMA faculty and staff; including articles, books, presentations, and posters

Public Health Emergency - Fair Use Guidance

Fair Use still applies to emergency digitization and delivery of course materials online. For more information, see the USMA Library Copyright and Fair Use page (must be on the WREN to view). 

FAQs

What happens to the books that are on reserve?

We are evaluating our current course reserves holdings to determine what is already available digitally and prioritizing access to our physical reserves in a digital format. If your class has items on reserve already, the faculty member who placed those items on reserve should expect to hear from us personally to see what support we can provide. 

Footer Library Logo How Do I?
 
Research
 
About