Skip to main content
United States Military Academy Library


How Do I?: Newspaper Subscriptions

New York Times

The USMA Library pays for The New York Times for all cadets, faculty, and staff. To get access, you have to register for an academic pass.

  1. Go to https://myaccount.nytimes.com/verification/edupass from the USMA network.
  2. Use your @westpoint.edu email address to register for the pass.
  3. The account you create will be good for 364 days from the date you activate it. It will expire, and then you have to register for a new pass the same way you did for this one.
  4. Once you have the account, you can use it online or in the NYT app. 

 

Apple (iPhone and iPad Apps): NY Times

Android Google Play App: NY Times

Wall Street Journal

Thanks to the USMA Financial Literacy Program, all cadets, staff, and faculty across the USMA enterprise now have access to the Wall Street Journal (WSJ) online platform. 

1.      Go to https://wsj.com/USMA
2.      If you are not already logged in to USMA’s Office 365, you will be prompted to log in.
3.      Once logged in, you will be redirected to a page to create your account. Your name and email should autopopulate, but if it does not make sure you use your westpoint.edu email address. Select your account type (student, staff, faculty), and create a password. Click “Create.”
4.      The next page should say “Redemption Successful” and then redirect you. The redirect may not be to a page that makes sense. If that happens, go to https://www.wsj.com/ and try to log in. If your account was created, you will be able to log in. You will also receive an email confirming your account.
5.      Once your account is created, you can use it online or on the WSJ app.

 

Apple (iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, and Apple TV App): The Wall Street Journal

Android Google Play App: The Wall Street Journal

Army Times

The USMA Library subscribes to the Armed Services and Government News database. This collection includes the full text of 18 periodicals and newspapers. Included is the Armed Forces Integrated Collection providing image editions covering all 4 main branches of the US Armed Forces: Air Force Times, Army Times, Navy Times, Marine Corps Times and Defense News, Armed Forces Journal, and Federal Times.

To find the image version of the Army Times (digital images of the printed version):

  1. Go to the Armed Services and Government News database. 
  2. Click on the A-Z source list at the top of the page.
  3. Change Format type to Image.
  4. Click on the Army Times (USA).
  5. Full image versions of the Army Times begin September 9, 2019 through current issues. There are links to the most recent issues at the top of the page.

Washington Post

The Washington Post provides a complimentary subscription for members of the military and government employees with verified email addresses. This subscription provides free digital access to the website and app versions of The Washington Post.

  1. To activate your complimentary subscription, go to https://subscribe.washingtonpost.com/specialoffer/#/gov-mil.
  2. Create a new account with your .mil email address.
  3. An email will be sent to your .mil email address. Once your confirm this email, your subscription will be active. 

Apple (iPhone, iPad, and Apple TV app): The Washington Post

Android Google Play App: The Washington Post

The Chronicle of Higher Education

The USMA Library pays for unlimited access to The Chronicle of Higher Education whether you are on campus or remote. Off-campus users will need to create an account to log in. 

  1. Create an account on the Chronicle.com.
  2. Use your westpoint.edu email address and "United States Military Academy" as your institution. 
  3. You will receive an email to confirm your email address. Click on the link in the message to confirm your email address and activate your Chronicle account. Once you click the link, you will be redirected to create a password. Once you do so, you have premium access through the USMA Library site license. 

Get Help

     

Chat with a librarian by clicking on the chat box on the upper right of the screen on most browsers

 

   

Visit us at the Help Desk on the 2nd floor of the library

----

Plebes: Contact your Personal Librarian  

----

Contact your Department’s Liaison ​

 

Call the USMA Library Help Desk at x8325

 

Computer or iPad Help: GoldCoats

Footer Library Logo How Do I?
 
Research
 
About