Skip to main content
United States Military Academy Library


How Do I?: Find Sources

How do I Find Sources?

I need to find sources for my research. How do I...

Find a book

Learn about how to search the Catalog

Physically locate a book in the library

Locate the call number and learn where to find it in Jefferson Hall

Find and use an ebook

Learn how to limit the search to find ebooks, and how to use them on your computer, tablet, or phone

Reserves

Find books placed on Reserve by your instructor. Search by course number (ex. "HI 108") or your instructor's name.

Find a scholarly or peer-reviewed journal

Learn how to search Scout (searches almost all resources together so you don’t have to search individual databases)

Find a database

Scout includes most, but not all, of the databases and materials we subscribe to. Find all databases that the USMA Library subscribes to with links to access the content.

Learn how to find a source West Point doesn’t have

Use ConnectNY first for faster delivery! If ConnectNY doesn’t have it, try ILL – InterLibrary Loan (known as ILLiad). If you still can't find what you're looking for, check the Library of Congress catalog and use ILLiad to request the item. To see everything that is available in all libraries, visit WorldCat and also use ILLiad to request the items. 

Archives & Special Collections

Learn about original resources (such as letters, photos, rare books, and the official records of USMA) that are available in person or online

Digital Collections

Digitized collections including books, manuscripts, and photographs documenting the history of West Point and its alumni. Learn how to use the digital collections.

USMA Digital Commons

Find scholarship from USMA faculty and staff; including articles, books, presentations, and posters

Get Help

     

Chat with a librarian by clicking on the chat box on the lower right of the screen on most browers

 

   

Visit us at the Help Desk on the 2nd floor of the library

----

Plebes: Contact your Personal Librarian  

----

Contact your Department’s Liaison ​

 

Call the USMA Library Help Desk at x8325

 

Computer or iPad Help: GoldCoats

Footer Library Logo How Do I?
 
Research
 
About