Library Services: Personal Librarians

A Guide To USMA Library Instruction Services

Personal Librarians

Every plebe at USMA gets matched with a Personal Librarian who is available to answer questions, help with papers and research, let you know what’s going on in the library, and connect you with resources.

Personal Librarians are matched with students based on your battalion--find your Personal Librarian below!

Mike Arden 1st Regiment
1st Battalion: A, B, C

Michael Arden
Michael.Arden@usma.edu
845-938-1181 
Dan Pritchard 1st Regiment
2nd Battalion: D, E, F

Daniel Pritchard
Daniel.Pritchard@usma.edu
845-938-1184 
1st Regiment
3rd Battalion: G, H, I

Karen Shea
Karen.Shea@usma.edu
845-938-8331 
2nd Regiment
1st Battalion: A, B, C

Corey Harmon
Geoffrey.Harmon@usma.edu
845-938-6010 
2nd Regiment
2nd Battalion: D, E, F

Celeste Evans
Celeste.Evans@usma.edu
845-938-8270 
2nd Regiment
3rd Battalion: G, H, I

Laura Mosher
Laura.Mosher@usma.edu
845-938-8296 
3rd Regiment
1st Battalion: A, B, C

Mary Ahenakew
Mary.Ahenakew@usma.edu
845-938-1188 
3rd Regiment
2nd Battalion: D, E, F

Elaine McConnell
Elaine.McConnell@usma.edu
845-938-2954 
3rd Regiment
3rd Battalion: G, H, I

Nick Olijnyk
Nicholas.Olijnyk@usma.edu
845-938-7816 
4th Regiment
1st Battalion: A, B, C

Darrell Hankins
Darrell.Hankins@usma.edu
845-938-8329 
4th Regiment
2nd Battalion: D, E, F

Manja Yirka
Manja.Yirka@usma.edu
845-938-8790 
4th Regiment
3rd Battalion: G, H, I

Heather Seminelli
Heather.Seminelli@usma.edu
845-938-8326

 

After your first year, you are welcome to continue contacting your Personal Librarian. Once you declare a major, we also encourage you to contact the Library Liaison for your major.

How can your Personal Librarian help you?

We can answer any questions you may have about the Library, or research in particular. Whether you are having difficulty finding a book, coming up with a topic, choosing a database or locating the best sources for a paper, you can call on your personal librarian. No question is too big or small.

Of course, you are not limited to consulting with your Personal Librarian. You are more than welcome to visit the Service Desk on the second floor (located next to the staircase), where there is always a staff member ready to help.  Remember - we are never too busy to help you; our mission is your success!

What else can your Personal Librarian do for you?

  • Keep you informed with important email messages highlighting resources and programs.

  • Answer questions about Library services such as how to find books in the Library, and how to request materials from other libraries.

  • Assist you with your research assignments by helping you identify the best sources, formulate search strategies, and cite what you use.

  • Help you when you’re not sure where to start or what to do next.

More ways to ask for help

     Chat with a librarian by clicking on the chat box on the lower right of the screen

     Visit us on the 2nd floor of the library

    Computer help from Goldcoats, temporarily closed - we will announce when Goldcoats begins staffing again

     See the Mounger Writing Center on the 2nd floor

     For help with study skills or performance, visit the Center for Enhanced Performance on the 1st floor