Finding Sources: Newspapers

Home

The United States Military Academy Library at West Point has access to a large collection of newspapers published in the United States and around the world. Use news and newspapers when you want to find:

  • Current information: Up-to-the-minute events and trends.
  • Historical information: Past events and issues. Learn about perceptions from times past.
  • Reviews: of books, movies and cultural information.

Please note this is not a complete list of sources and remember, news items are not considered scholarly sources, so be sure to check with your instructor before using them for a paper.

Online News Sources

Digital Subscriptions to NYTimes.com can be obtained through the USMA Library, for cadets, faculty and staff with a USMA email address. Go to nytimes.com/passes

  1. Click "Register" to create a NYT account using your USMA email address.
  2. At the bottom of the Welcome page, click "Continue."
  3. Look for "Check your email." You'll receive a message within 15 minutes to confirm your Email address.
  4. Click on the link in the confirmation email.  This will verify your eligibility and grant your Academic Pass. 

 *You will need to register annually for this pass.

Digital subscriptions to the Washington Post are available to anyone with an .EDU email address. Follow website instructions to create an account. Digital access can also be found here: Washington Post

  • Digital  access to the Eastern Edition of the Wall Street Journal can be found here: Wall Street Journal 

  • Digital access to the LA Times can be found here: LA Times 

Did you know that searching the Library's databases for News can save you time?

Many of our databases allow you to search multiple publications at once,while narrowing by topic and date (or other means).

Another benefit is that databases deal only with published material, verses the web, where you are more likely to find unreputable sources.

  • LexisNexis Academic
    Content is drawn from newspapers, state & federal cases, law reviews and company profiles.
  • Library PressDisplay (Press Reader)
    Provides access to over 200 current newspapers from more than 55 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. Includes the most recent 60 days for most titles.
  • Newspaper Source
    Full text of U.S. and international newspapers, and selected television & radio transcripts.
  • ProQuest Newspapers
    Full text collection of a wide range of current and historical American newspapers.
  • 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
    Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. Includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
  • Accessible Archives
    Primary source material in American history. Includes historical periodicals and books, with eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records
  • America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1956
    Provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers. Includes African American Newspapers, 1835-1956. For best results, DOWNLOAD ONE PAGE AT A TIME.
  • ProQuest Newspapers
    Full text collection of a wide range of current and historical American newspapers.