English & Philosophy: Home

This guide provides resources for cadets studying English and Philosophy.

Department of English & Philosophy

Department of English & Philosophy Mission

The Department of English & Philosophy prepares cadets to be outstanding communicators and adaptable critical thinkers who can synthesize concepts; appreciate diverse cultures, ideas, and forms of expression; and assess clearly the implications of complex ethical questions.

English & Philosophy Databases at the USMA Library

Looking for journal articles on English & Philosophy topics? The USMA Library offers a variety of English & Philosophy databases that provide access to journal articles to help with your research. Find them here!

Other Resources

- Search Scout to see what we have access to, and the Catalog for what we have in the building.

- For books we don't own, try ConnectNY.  

- For articles we don't own, try ILLiad.  

 

Quick Search

Loading

Welcome to USMA Library's Department of English & Philosophy Research Guide!

What does an academic department liaison do?

Reference & Research Consultant

  • Support for thesis students
  • Provide reference & research support, or appropriate referral to other experts or service providers
  • In-person, phone, email, and chat support available

Teaching and Learning

  • Orientations to new faculty during FDW, participate in FDW
  • Updates to returning faculty
  • Understand libraries’ potential role in providing content or support for department
  • Topical workshops (Zotero citation management, Wikipedia, OpenRefine)
  • Create instruction support material including research guides LibGuides: online research guides
  • Attend departmental seminars, meetings, and subject-specific conferences and collaborate with faculty to support their research

Integrate library resources into course development

  • Incorporate use of library collections and research based learning as an integral component of courses
  • Collaboratively build framework for understanding research processes, using library resources, and designing in-person and online learning environments to support project development
  • Support curriculum to integrate information fluency concepts and research skills into the curriculum, assist with project development to assess these skills

Collection development

  • Book purchase requests
  • Access to databases
  • Training on math focused databases
  • Scholarly Communication – Recruit content for institutional repository – USMA Digital Commons

Enrichment

  • Celebration of West Point Authors Event
  • Support to departmental special events (Special Collections and Archives exhibits)
  • Library hosted exhibits (Forbidden Art, Cushing Medal of Honor)
  • Student & Campus engagement (National Poetry Month, National Libraries Week)

Contact for Assistance

Susan Lintelmann's picture
Susan Lintelmann
Contact:
845-938-7052