- 19th Century Masterfile
Indexes nineteenth century literature, including newspapers, periodicals, books, and government publications.
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Searchable database containing digital facsimile images of newspapers; presented as full page layout as well as single articles; advertisements and illustrations included. Includes numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
- 19th Century UK Periodicals
Collected periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900.
- Accessible Archives
Primary source material in American history. Includes historical periodicals and books, with eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records
- ACLS Humanities E-Book
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to titles in most humanities disciplines and in area studies.
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers.
- America: History and Life with Full Text
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes over 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910. Additionally, it provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
- American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection
Full text of historical American periodicals collected by the American Antiquarian Society. Covers a wide range of topics including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, politics, as well as other aspects of American society from the seventeenth through the late nineteenth century.
- American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Provides access to an extensive range of diaries, letters, and memoirs of persons somehow involved in the American Civil War.
- American History Online
Explores American history through subject entries, biographies, primary sources, images and videos, maps and charts, and timelines.
- American Periodicals Series Online
Digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century American newspapers and periodicals
- Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970
Primary source documents from the British National Archives that chronicle the history of the Palestine Mandate and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Directory of thousands of collections of primary source material housed in archives worldwide.
- Archives Direct. Confidential Print. Middle East
Contains British Foreign and Colonial Office documents concerning the Middle East.
- Archives Direct. Confidential Print. North America, 1824-1961
Contains British Foreign and Colonial Office documents concerning America, including the United States, Canada, the West Indies, and South America.
- Archives Direct. Foreign Office Files for China, 1949-1980
Documents including eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses relating to China during the period.
- Archives Direct. The Nixon years, 1969-1974
Documents on foreign policy issues ranging from the Vietnam War and Paris Peace talks, to Nixon's China visit in 1972 and US relations with the Middle East. There is also material on social conditions, domestic reforms, trade, culture and the environment.
- Archives Unbound
Collections of original sources reproduced from various libraries and archives. Federal response to radicalism in the 1960s -- Federal surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 -- Foreign relations between Latin America and the Caribbean states, 1930-1944 -- JFKs foreign affairs and international crises, 1961-1963 -- Records of the Persian Gulf War -- Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993 -- Papers of Joseph Chamberlain -- Papers of Neville Chamberlain -- Papers of Austen Chamberlain
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection
60,000 historical articles and complete texts of over 1,100 historical books on Hispanic American literature and culture. The content is 80% Spanish and 20% English and is indexed and searchable in both Spanish and English.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies
Provides citations to western-language materials pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Coverage begins with 1971.
- Black Thought and Culture
Non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. Includes books, essays, articles, speeches, letters, interviews, and other materials. Includes brief biographical information for all authors.
- British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
Writings by nearly 500 women.
- Cambridge Histories Online
This collection consists of 300 volumes from the Cambridge Histories series. The volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
Provides a wide variety of original source material detailing China's interaction with the West.
- Colonial State Papers
Provides access to papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Integrates two research tools as one service: Collection CO 1 from The National Archives (full name: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers); and Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739.
- Conditions and Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945
Full-text documents received in the British Foreign Office from all European states under Nazi occupation during World War II. Primary sources relate to wartime conditions in France, Italy, Belgium, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, the Netherlands, Luxembourg and the Vatican.
- Declassified Documents Reference System
Database of declassified material provided via US presidential libraries, most covering the years following World War II onward.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)
Contains declassified government documents covering U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century
- Encyclopaedia Iranica
Covers all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures.
- Fold3 [formerly known as Footnote]
Original source documents with an emphasis on military records and stories. Includes: History and genealogy archives -- African American archives -- Holocaust archives -- Native American archives -- Revolutionary War archives -- U.S. Bureau of Investigation case file archives -- World War II archives.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements. The reports are from 1974-1996 and contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information.
- Founders Online
Correspondence and other writings of six major shapers of the United States, namely George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, James Madison. Includes over 119,000 searchable documents, fully annotated, from the Founding Fathers Papers projects
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 2,500 journals, with full text for more than 300.
- Historical Atlas of Islam
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
Beginning with 1688, this collection includes Bills (drafts of legislation), House papers (documents resulting from the work of the House and its Committees), Command papers (from Ministers conveying information or decisions from the Government), and the Official Report of debates (Hansard). It does not include the House of Commons Journal or daily business papers, such as Order papers and Votes and Proceedings.
- Iraq, 1914-1974
Source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.
- Issues & Controversies in American History
Provides summaries of issues and controversies in American history, including background on the issues and synopses of all sides of the debate. Includes some source documents.
- Jewish Life in America
Six organizational collections and twenty-four collections of personal papers.
- Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries
Documents from 1750-1950 collected by the American Antiquarian Society.
- Modern World History Online
Provides topical entries, biographies, maps, primary source documents, and timeline entries covering the mid-15th century through the present.
- North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Full text collection of letters, diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives by immigrants to the U.S. and Canada from 1800-1950.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Full-text of letters and diaries of 1,325 women who lived in North America before 1960.
- Oral History Online
Database of full text English language oral histories plus indexing of free oral history information on the Web.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online. Military History
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on military history. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
A collection of works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's, including books, pamphlets, serials and other documents.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
Collection of documents covering the history of slavery worldwide. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
- Social and Cultural History : Letters and Diaries Online
English language letters, diaries, autobiographies, oral histories, and other personal narratives providing insight into history dating from the 1550s to the present.
- The American West
Original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources about the American West.
- War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies [via eHistory]
Primary sources (correspondence, orders, reports, and returns) generated during the course of the Civil War.
- War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies [via Making of America]
Primary sources (correspondence, orders, reports, and returns) generated during the course of the Civil War.
- Women, War and Society, 1914-1918
Documents including charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, and press cuttings, along with interpretative essays.
- World at War
Provides overviews of individual modern wars, with causes, opponents, consequences, articles, media and visuals, documents, facts and figures, and timelines.