Chemistry and Life Science: Home

Department of Chemistry and Life Science

 

 

 

 

 

Chemistry and Life Science Mission

To develop in cadets a firm foundation in physical science, investigative techniques, and problem solving skills essential to their understanding and awareness of the relationships between science and society.

Other Resources

- Search Scout to see what we have access to, and the Catalog for what we have in the building.

- For books we don't own, try ConnectNY.  

- For articles we don't own, try ILLiad.  

 

Chemistry and Life Sciences Databases at the USMA Library

Looking for journal articles on Chemistry and Life Sciences topics? The USMA Library offers a variety of Chemistry and Life Sciences databases that provide access to journal articles to help with your research. Find them here!

Quick Search

Loading

Welcome to USMA Library's Department of Chemistry and Life Science Research Guide!

What does an academic department liaison do?

Reference & Research Consultant

  • Support for thesis students
  • Provide reference & research support, or appropriate referral to other experts or service providers
  • In-person, phone, email, and chat support available

Teaching and Learning

  • Orientations to new faculty during FDW, participate in FDW
  • Updates to returning faculty
  • Understand library's potential role in providing content or support for department
  • Topical workshops (Zotero citation management, Wikipedia, OpenRefine)
  • Create instruction support material including research guides LibGuides: online research guides
  • Attend departmental seminars, meetings, and subject-specific conferences and collaborate with faculty to support their research

Integrate library resources into course development

  • Incorporate use of library collections and research-based learning as an integral component of courses
  • Collaboratively build framework for understanding research processes, using library resources, and designing in-person and online learning environments to support project development
  • Support curriculum to integrate information fluency concepts and research skills into the curriculum, assist with project development to assess these skills

Collection development

  • Book purchase requests
  • Access to databases
  • Training on Chemistry and Life Science focused databases
  • Scholarly Communication – Promote faculty contributions to the USMA Digital Commons (institutional repository)

Enrichment

  • Celebration of West Point Authors Event
  • Support to departmental special events (Special Collections and Archives exhibits)
  • Library hosted exhibits (Forbidden Art, Cushing Medal of Honor)
  • Student & Campus engagement (National Poetry Month, National Libraries Week)

Chem & Life Sci Liaison Librarian

Manja Yirka's picture
Manja Yirka
Contact:
Jefferson Hall
Materials Processing Div. 1st Floor
845-938-8790