EasyBibZotero
This is the "Citation Help - Home" page of the "Citation Help" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Header Image
USMA Library
U.S. Military Academy Library at West Point
This Library Guide includes helpful information regarding citations.
Last Updated: Jun 30, 2015 URL: http://usma.libguides.com/citation Print Guide RSS Updates

Citation Help - Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Citation Tools/Style Manuals

Cover Art
The Chicago manual of style online [electronic resource]
Call Number: Z253 .U69 2010
Publication Date: c2010

Cover Art
MLA handbook for writers of research papers
Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2009
ISBN: 9781603290241

The Little, Brown Handbook.

 
NOTE:  All cadets are required to have this book. It is mentioned in the Documentation of Written Work.
 

Quick APA & MLA Citation Examples

APA Citation Style:

Books:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher.

American Psychological Association. (2010). Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association.

Print Journals:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of Article. Title of Journal, Volume, pages.

Smith, J. (2010). Title of Article. Title of Journal, 1, 1-32.

Articles retrieved from an online Database:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of Article. Title of Journal, Volume, pages. Retrieved Date, from Name of Database database.

Smith, J. (2010). Title of Article. Title of Journal, 1, 1-32. Retrieved 1 December 2010, from JSTOR database.

Website:

Author, A. A. (Date of publication). Title of Page/Document. Retrieved from URL

USMA Library. (n.d.). Ask a Librarian. Retrieved from http://www.usma.libanswers.com

 

MLA Citation Style:

Books:

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of Publication: Publisher, Year. Medium of publication.

Gibaldi, Joseph. Mla Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2009. Print.

Print Journals:

Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume.Issue (Year): pages. Medium of publication.

Smith, John. "Title of Article." Title of Journal 1.2 (2010): 1-32. Print.

Articles retrieved from an online Database:

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume.Issue (Year): pages. Name of Database (ex. Academic Search Complete). Web. Retrieved Date, Ex. 27 May 2009.

Smith, John. "Title of Article." Title of Journal 1.2 (2010): 1-32. JSTOR. Web. Retrieved 01 December 2010.

Website:

Lastname, Firstname. "Name of Webpage." Website title. Date. Publisher. Date of access. <URL>.

USMA Library. "Ask a Librarian." USMA Library. n.d. United States Military Academy. 01 December 2010. <http://www.usma.libanswers.com>.

 

Contact Us

Research & Reference:

(845) 938-8325

Ask a Librarian

 

Council of Science Editors

Council of Science Editors
 

 

American Chemical Society

For citation help with American Chemical Society citations use the links below.  Both offer citation suggestions and online help when citing chemistry references.

http://library.williams.edu/citing/styles/acs.php   

http://www.library.wisc.edu/chemistry/research-help/write-and-cite/acs-style-guide/

For addtional assistance seek the help of the Chemistry departmental library liaison:  Manja Yirka at:  X8790    manja.yirka@usma.edu

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip