This is the "Goverment Documents: What They Are & How to Find Them" page of the "Government Documents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Header Image
USMA Library
U.S. Military Academy Library at West Point

Government Documents  

Last Updated: Sep 29, 2014 URL: http://usma.libguides.com/GovDocs Print Guide RSS Updates
Goverment Documents: What They Are & How to Find Them Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What Are Government Documents?

Government Documents are materials published by the U.S. Federal Government that reflect the work of (or are products of) the agencies that issue them.  Examples include Congressional deliberations, Presidential statements, economic and social statistical compilations, annual reports of agencies, reports of special commissions, and the texts of treaties, court decisions, proposed bills and enacted laws. 

The United States Military Academy Library is a "partial depository" for U. S. Government Documents. This means that only selected publications are received automatically from the Government Printing Office. Our collection consisists of material on past and present public affairs issues; the adjoining boxes  will allow to search for printed documents in our collection, or link you to databases where you can search for online versions of them. 

The library has additional reference sources available to identify, locate, and interpret these publications. The Documents Collection and related online content are open to the public under the provisions of 44 USC 1911.

 

Search for Documents in the USMA Library Collection

Government Document Keyword Search

Type the government document keyword(s) you want to find, then press the Enter key or click Submit.
Search for:
Limit to:

Government Document Number Search

Type the government document number or SUDOC number you want to find, then press the Enter key or click Submit.
Search for:
Sort By:

Principal Government Document Databases

  • FDsys
    GPO's Federal Digital System provides public access to Congressional and Federal agency publications.
  • ProQuest Congressional
    Information produced by or pertaining to the United States Congress from 1789 to the present. Provides full text for many titles, generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, legislative histories, hearings, committee prints, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, Congressional Research Service reports, Code of Federal Regulations, and Federal Register.
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set [Readex]
    Database of Congressional documents and reports from 1817 through 1994. Provides access to primary source material on all aspects of American history, including committee reports related to bills and other matters, presidential communications to Congress, treaty materials, and selected executive department and non-governmental publications.

Audiovisual & Social Sciences Liaison Librarian

Profile Image
Michael G. Arden
Contact Info
Audiovisual Librarian
DP: 845-938-1181
Email: michael.arden@usma.edu
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip